Easy Pizza Dough

Hello Stranger!  How’s it Cooking?

Between winter colds, a busy work schedule, good and bad news, and then the holidays… we have sadly fallen behind our posts.  But do not distress, fine friends!  For we have some lovely recipes in the works…

I’ll let the hubby take it from here with a fast and easy (and absolutely delicious!) recipe for pizza dough…

Easy Pizza Dough

So after trying a few pizza dough recipes over the years I’ve found this to be one of the easiest and quickest to make.  I found this off Martha Stewart’s Everyday Living magazine.

First you’ll need a few items…

  • 2 packets (1/4 ounce each) active dry yeast
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, plus more for bowl and brushing
  • 2 teaspoons coarse salt
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled), plus more for work surface.
  • Pour 1 1/2 cups warm water into a large bowl; sprinkle with yeast and let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes.
Whisk sugar, oil, and salt into yeast mixture.
Add flour and stir until a sticky dough forms.
If you’ve got a mixer now’s the time to use it.  Attach the dough hook to your mixer and knead the dough til its all mixed up.
I’m mixing this by hand, which involves folding the dough and pressing it down.
Once you’re done shape the dough into a ball.
Cover bowl with plastic wrap and set aside in a warm, draft-free place until dough has doubled in bulk, about 1 hour.
Here’s my dough after 1 hour.
Turn out onto a lightly floured work surface and gently knead 1 or 2 times before using.
  This makes 2 pounds of pizza dough and either makes 2 large pizzas or 4 medium pizzas.
I usually cut the dough in half and freeze half of it for later use.  Then with the portion I didn’t freeze I cut it in half again so I can make 2 pizzas.
Pizza time!
So now the dough is made, start rolling it out with a pin or stretch it out with you hands slowly.  I’ve been stretching it with my hands, then use the rolling pin as needed later.  If needed sprinkle some flour on your work surface to keep the dough from sticking.
Once you’ve got the pizza as thin as desired, then you’re ready for the toppings.
I use a pizza stone that I got at Target.  You can also get a square patio stone tile at a hardware store and that should work just fine.  I heat the pizza stone in the oven to 400 degrees.
Another piece of equipment that I had to have in my kitchen, is a pizza peel.  I use this one pictured.
I corn meal the peel, then place the pizza on it.  You could flour the peel then put the pizza dough on it.  I do this so the dough doesn’t stick to the peel.  MacGyver says “Use a cutting board if you don’t have a pizza peel.”
First brush olive oil on the top, then put down your tomato sauce.  The olive oil will act as a barrier to keep the dough from getting soggy.  If you have a drier sauce you may not need to add olive oil, but go ahead and experiment.
In this photo I used olive oil, tomato sauce, sharp cheddar cheese, prosciutto, fresh basil, and freshly ground pepper.  The slide that sucker into the oven.
After 10-15 minutes the pizza should be done.
What are you waiting for?  Eat it!
Leave a Reply

