Form, Shape, and Rise Again

After about 7 hours or so, I check the container of dough.  In this picture, I modified the basic country loaf recipe.  After putting the dough in the plastic container, I decided to add a cup of toasted sesame seeds.  I then flipped the dough a few times to mix in the sesame seeds.  See how the dough has risen?  Now it’s ready to take form…

I pull out my large cutting board (although you could use your kitchen table- just make sure its clean).  Then I lightly flour the surface.  Just a note: I roll out of bed about 6-6:30am to do this step.

I lightly flour the surface of the dough, then I cut it in half to make 2 loaves.

Then I take my bench scraper and push the dough under itself.  I hold the opposite side with my other hand and push the bench scraper towards my other hand, until I can get it to form a small round.  It’s difficult to visualize, but I’ll show you with one hand.

Once I get the dough formed into two big rounds, I sprinkle it lightly with flour and cover it to rest for 30 min.

The dough should hold its shape.  If it spreads out, then I would need to repeat the previous step of forming the loaves again.  These dough balls are good and ready to go, so I went ahead and folded them up according to the Tartine Method and put them into my bread baskets for the final rise.  My baskets are covered with clean towels sprinkled with rice flour to keep the dough from sticking.

Then I put them in the fridge for 8-12 hours until I bake it.  If I don’t use the fridge, I can leave it out for about 4 hours until I need to bake it.

Next we heat it up!

9 thoughts on “Form, Shape, and Rise Again

  1. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  2. I have to say, youve got 1 with the very best blogs Ive noticed in a long time. What I wouldnt give to be able to make a blog thats as fascinating as this. I guess Ill just need to maintain reading yours and hope that one day I can write on a subject with as significantly knowledge as youve got on this one!

Leave a Reply

