Let’s Make Some Dough!

So you wanna make some dough, huh?  Since Martha Stewart’s website published the Tartine Method, I’m going to just link to it and show you how I do it.  So let’s get to it!

Just a note: This recipe makes 2 loaves of bread so you could always eat one and freeze the other for later.

First I check to see if my leaven has bubbles; then I grab a big bowl, a digital scale, and fill it with water that’s between 80-95 degrees.

Your leaven should float.

Once it does, mix it up.

After the leaven is mixed, add the unbleached white bread flour.  Then add the wheat flour.

Mix it up (clean hands please!).

Mix thoroughly.

So now the dough needs to rest for about 30 min.

In the meantime, I measure out my salt and water.

Make sure the salt is evenly distributed.

Then pour in the water.

Integrate the salt with the dough by squeezing the dough with your hand.

Transfer to another container (that has a lid- suggested by the Tartine Method).

Now we cover and wait for 4-8 hours.  Turning the dough in the container every 30 min. for the first few hours.  The dough is ready when it increases 1/3 or so in volume.  I only turn it a few times, since I normally do this step at night.

Next we form and do a final rise.

Leave a Reply

