Kelson’s Delicious Bread Adventure continues…

No knead bread.  America’s Test Kitchen bread.  Bread made by your folks.

There are many methods to making bread, but I am now a devout believer of the Tartine Method.

Why am I using the Tartine Method?  Up to this point I haven’t found a bread recipe that can replicate the flavors I had in Paris.  I was researching for weeks and weeks.  Looking for a recipe that would satisfy my taste buds.

During this time I read about Chad Robertson, who is part owner of Tartine Bakery.  He’s considered one of the best bread bakers in America.  Although I am lucky enough to be located in the same city as Tartine Bakery and a man that is currently considered the best at his craft, I’ve actually never tried the bread.   Ironic, I know.

What I did find from my reading and research was that I had to try his method, which luckily he has published in a book called Tartine Bread.

I can’t emphasize how much this book has influenced and created my base for bread making.  Get it.  If not for the detailed descriptions and photos, then get it to support the art of good bread.

Making leaven…

Surprisingly, working and creating the dough is a snap.  It’s the planning that ends up being a pain in the arse.  Before I begin the process of making bread, I have to think when I’ll be home and when certain stages will be done.  Careful planning is the key to good bread.

Dough can be finicky when it comes to temperature.   You’ll have to test it and run some trials in your own kitchen to obtain consistent results.

I’m using the Tartine Method for baking bread.  All ingredients must be measured for exactness because, we are baking not cooking.  Since the process is quite long, I’m just going to go into the planning of it right now.  All the times below will depend on the temperature of your house.  The hotter it is in your house, the less time it takes for the dough to rise.

The game plan…

  • Preparing the leaven = 2-4 hours
  • Making the dough = 45 min.
  • Bulk Fermentation Stage = 4- 8 hours
  • Final Rise = 8-12 hours in the refrigerator (2-4 hours on the kitchen table)
  • Baking bread =  approx. 1 hour total (20 min. to heat up your cast iron, 20 mins to steam the bread, 20 mins to finish it off)

Click on this link for the Tartine Method recipe by Chad Robertson (posted by Martha Stewart) .

What is leaven? It’s the starter with added flour and added water fermented for additional hours.

For the Leaven stage I’ve created a make shift hotbox of sorts.  I put my leaven in my entertainment cabinet where my PS3 resides.

For the next 2 hours or so, I either play video games or watch a movie.

Why do I do this you ask?  First off, my house isn’t exactly 75-80 degrees all the time.  Secondly if I didn’t put my leaven in a warm spot, it would take forever for the first stage.

After this let’s make some dough!

2 thoughts on “Kelson’s Delicious Bread Adventure continues…

  1. Yum i LOVE LOVE LOVE rustic homemade bread. My boyfriend makes it from time to time using Julia Child’s recipe. This looks fantastic. And great idea with letting it warm on the PS3! Haha!!!

Leave a Reply

