Comforting college cookies…

The four “C”s are usually thought of in terms of diamonds (clarity, cut, color, and carat).  In my mind, the four “C”s of the moment are Christine’s comforting college cookies.

Nothing beats a fresh, out-of-the-oven, warm chocolate chip cookie.

Except maybe a college cookie.

What is a college cookie?  A college cookie are those baked goods that were located on campus that you found yourself drawn to in the middle of mid-terms, finals, dating crises, and roommate battles.  This cookie was your friend and would be there in your time of need.  (They happen to go very well with cheap coffee.)

My college cookie happened to be of the “everything but the kitchen sink” variety.  It was an oatmeal cookie with chocolate chips, coconut, and Rice Krispies.  Oh my goodness, that was one helluva cookie!

So when I found myself near my alma matter, I knew we had to make a pit stop to find my comforting college cookie for old times.  And what did I find in place of my hole-in-the-wall, student-run bake shop?

NOTHING.

My little bake/coffee shop had closed and turned into a kiosk.  They now served cappuccinos, non-fat lattes, frappes, smoothies, etc.  And granted I love my coffee, so this change wasn’t so dire.  It was the baked goods section that left me depressed.  They had very sad looking lemon bars, muffins, and some mis-shapened chocolate cookies… but no sight of my college cookie.

What the fuzzy.

As I’ve mentioned before, the memory in your taste buds is a very powerful tool, because I went home determined to make my cookie.  Not just for me.  Not just for the sure principle that that cookie existed and rocked my world.  BUT the fact that Kelson had never got to try this mythical cookie.

And it tasted just as good as I remembered.

Now, it it hard to find a PERFECT cookie recipe, but the one I’m about to share is the ultimate in the oatmeal cookie family.  Please note the recipe bellow is for my college cookie, but photographed is a white chocolate and dried cranberry oatmeal cookie (Kelson’s favorite and what happened to be in my kitchen cabinets tonight).

The College Cookie Recipe

*Adapted from Julesong.

Serving: Makes 2 dozen good-looking cookies.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup salted butter (1 stick) softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla paste
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup quick cooking oats
  • 6 oz. mini-chocolate chips (half the bag)
  • 1 cup Rice Krispies
  • 1 cup coconut (Kelson doesn’t like coconut… so alas, this is optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Time to bust out the KitchenAid (or a large bowl and whisk/chopsticks will do just fine).  Mix white sugar, brown sugar, and butter.
  3. Mix in the egg, vanilla, and cinnamon.
  4. Mix in the baking soda, salt, and flour.
  5. Mix in the oatmeal, chocolate chips, and Rice Krispies.
  6. I like big cookies, so I put about 6 per tray.  Also, if you’re big into cookie making then I highly advise buying a silpat.  These things are amazing!!!
  7. Bake for 12 minutes.
  8. Cool them down on a baking rack (or plate) and get ready to chow down on comfort in a cookie form!
This is a great oatmeal cookie recipe that I like to use as a base.  Feel free to substitute any of the other ingredients to make your own “kitchen sink”/college cookie.  Pecans and dark chocolate.  White chocolate and dried mangoes.
But again, nothing beats the deliciousness of a warm cookie.  Enjoy!
5 thoughts on “Comforting college cookies…

Leave a Reply

