Day 3 of Kimchi Making

Pickling.  The art of fermentation that enabled people to preserve food through harsh winters and long journeys.  Giving us salty treats that are found in various ethnic groups and cultures across the board.

Whether it be your classic “pickle” made from cucumbers to pickled herring, carrots, pig’s feet, daikon, eggs, sauerkraut, and (of course) kimchi; there is bound to be a fermented friend that wants to accompany your meal.

What is “bad kimchi”?

  1. No flavor?
  2. Not spicy?  No pickling has occurred?
  3. Super stinky?  Or does that just mean it’s really authentic?

No, these are somewhat subjective fears that can be saved.  No, truly bad kimchi would be…

MOLD.

Evil worldwide web led me to folks that said they had found MOLD in their kimchi.  Should the kimchi be gray and moldy?  Maybe the spot I put it in wasn’t cool enough and too dark/damp?  Did I not put enough salt to prevent mold?  Oh dear.

Time to open up the kimchi and find out…

Kelson popped open the lid and I quickly shoved my head over the jar to take a big whiff.  Spicy.  Kimchi-looking.  NO MOLD.  Whew!  But how do I really know it’s ready?

“If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, looks like a duck, it must be a duck.”

It looks like kimchi.  Smells like kimchi.  Tastes like kimchi?  [Gulp]  Then it must be kimchi.

Kelson’s reply, “I just brushed my teeth.”

[1 hour later]

I’m blogging and not hurling over a toilet, so that’s a good sign.  And yes, it did indeed taste like kimchi.  Very mild kimchi.  Probably due to the fact I used my made-in-hawaii-but-has-Korean-characters mix pack.  Also, it didn’t really have that pickled flavor yet (which has been said to come with time and refrigeration).  With that I added a bit more salt, mixed it up, and sealed it for another day.

3 thoughts on “Day 3 of Kimchi Making

  1. I actually have a good kim chee recipe that does not require the fermintation (i know is not traditional). its in one of my boxes.

  2. Pingback: Ice Cream + Beer = Deliciousness | christine&kelson

Leave a Reply

